New York’s Eason Writer, NY has been named the 2022 US Presidential Scholar in the Arts.

New York, NY (May 12, 2022) – From Eason Rytter, 2022 YoungArts Award winner at the theater Fiorello H. LaGuardia High School of Music, Art, and the Performing Arts In New York City, a 2022 has been named US President’s Scholar in the Arts. The US Presidential Scholars Award – one of the highest honors in the country for high school students who exemplifies artistic and academic excellence, leadership qualities and community service – is presented by the President of the United States and honors 161 graduate high school seniors. High probability every year. This year marks the 58th anniversary of the US Presidential Scholars Program and the 43rd anniversary of the US Presidential Scholars in the Arts. A complete list of 2022 U.S. presidential scholars on the arts can be found here.

Writer joins a renowned group of YoungArts Award winners and alumni of the U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts, including Tony Award-nominated actor and choreographer Desmond Richardson; Rachel S. Moore, president of the Los Angeles Music Center; Allegra Goodman, a novelist and finalist for the National Book Award; Grammy Award-winning violinist Jennifer Koh; Abdi Farah, winner of Bravo’s “Work of Art”; OB Award-winning actress Donna Lynn Champlin; And RCA Records Award-winning singer-songwriter and Grammy Award-nominated artist Chris Young.

As part of the application process, nominees for U.S. presidential pundits were asked to write about the high school teacher who influenced their development the most. Fiorelo H. LaGuardia nominated Mala Santilas of Drama Studio at High School as the Essay Writer. Tsantilas is also recognized as an eminent teacher of the U.S. President. A list of 2022 US Presidential Scholarly Teachers can be found here:

List of eminent teachers PDF

Students who wish to be considered for future U.S. Arts Scholars must first apply to the YoungArts Art Competition.

“Our 2022 presidential pundits represent America’s best and remind us that if empowered by education, there is no limit to what our young people can achieve,” he said. US Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. “Today, I join President Biden in celebrating a class of scholars whose knowledge, generosity of consciousness and exceptional talent make our nation extremely proud. Throughout one of the most difficult times in the history of our country and in our recovery from the epidemic, our students have once again shown their strength and there is so much to contribute to our country. Thanks to them, I know America’s future is bright. “

Lauren Snelling“The 2022 U.S. presidential pundits in the industry demonstrate both a commitment to academic achievement and a commitment to creativity in a wide range of visual, literary and performing arts,” said YoungArts’ artistic director. YoungArts is incredibly proud to celebrate these young artists today and to expand their innovative perspectives as they become the mediators of our country’s cultural compass tomorrow. ”

Becoming a U.S. Presidential Scholar in the arts

The first step in becoming a U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts is to apply to YoungArts, the organization nominated for this honor. To be eligible for the YoungArts program, applicants must be 15-18 years old or have a high school grade of 10-12. To be considered for the U.S. Presidential Scholarship in the Arts, applicants must be a high school senior and meet all the requirements of the U.S. Presidential Scholars. Youngarts Award winners who excel in performing, visual or literary art are selected annually through a blind judging process. This year, 720 YoungArts Award winners have been selected. In January, 157 finalists from across the country were invited to National Young Arts Week +, where they participated in one-week intensive virtual classes and workshops with internationally renowned artists.

During National Young Arts Week +, eligible participants were further evaluated, prize levels were set, and nominees were nominated for Arts Candidates by U.S. Presidential Scholars that year. After a rigorous selection process, YoungArts selected 60 candidates to be invited to apply for the US Presidential Scholars Program. Finally, the Commission on Presidential Scholars selects 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the arts each year.

About US Presidential Scholars

In 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established by an executive order from President Lyndon B. Johnson to recognize and honor the country’s top high school graduates. In 1979, the program was expanded to recognize students who demonstrated talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was extended again to recognize students who demonstrated skills and achievement in career and technical education.

Scholars are selected annually by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars appointed by the President on the basis of academic achievement, personal characteristics, leadership and service activities and writing ability. This year, nearly 5,000 candidates have qualified for the 2022 program, determined by outstanding performance on the College Board’s SAT and ACT exams, nominated by the principal state school officers, or by other partner recognition programs or YoungArts.

Since its inception, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored nearly 8,000 high-performing students in the country. U.S. presidential scholars are honored for their accomplishments during the National Recognition Program every June. To commemorate their achievements, scholars were awarded the Presidential Scholars Medallion.

161 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars include a young man and a young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and 15 elected senior, 20 U.S. presidential scholars, along with U.S. families living abroad. 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in Arts, and Career and Technical Education.

About YoungArts

YoungArts was founded in 1981 by Lynn and Ted Arison to identify the most talented young artists in the visual, literary, and performing arts and to provide opportunities for creative and professional development throughout their careers. Entry into this prestigious organization begins in the United States through a highly competitive application process for talented artists aged 15-18 or grade 10-12. Applications are judged by a rigorous blind process by a reputable discipline-specific panel of artists. All YoungArts award winners receive financial prizes and the opportunity to learn from notable artists such as Debbie Allen, Mikhail Barishnikov, German Burns, Winton Marsalis, Salman Rushdie and Mikelin Thomas. YoungArts Award winners are more eligible for exclusive opportunities which include: Nomination as US Presidential Scholar in Art, one of the highest honors in the country for high school seniors; Extensive creative development support, including fellowships, residency and awards; Professional development programs in partnership with major organizations across the country; Additional financial support; And access to YoungArts Post, a personal, online portal for YoungArts artists to connect, share their work and discover new opportunities.

Past Young Arts Award winners include Daniel Arsham, Terrence Blanchard, Camille A. Brown, Timothy Chalamet, Viola Davis, Amanda Gorman, Judith Hill, Jennifer Koh, Terrell Alvin McCraney, Andrew Ranells, Desmond Richardson and Hunter Schaefer. For more information, visit, YouTube, Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

eSchool News Staff
The latest post from school news staff (See all)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.